A new blog

I’ve decided to migrate my blog to WordPress. It’s been long enough that I’ve been mooching off friends (Buster all the way back in 2003 on his MovableType instance and most recently Bob on the mobileduo domain). Since all the cool kids seem to be on WordPress these days, that’s good enough for me.

On my last blog, I experimented a bit with displaying current books I’m reading, latest albums, Twitter posts, etc. But I found it too much trouble to keep updated. So, for my new blog I selected a clean WordPress template and put just the bare essentials in the sidebar: search, categories, top posts and links to me other places on the Web. The nice thing about a hosted solution is dealing with spam. I had to turn off comments on my old blog. I figure constant attention from WordPress should help deal with comment spam for the most part. Finally, with a hosted solution you get constant goodies released (like widgets) and don’t have to worry about updating your own instance to get them (or pestering Bob in my case)! So, I’m looking forward to the new location for this blog.

Another change in this rev of my blog, I will be no longer be creating posts around pointing readers to interesting links. I do that now through my Twitter feed. Microblogging is a much better vehicle for short bursts of interesting facts to followers. This blog will be focused more on narrative — hopefully original narrative. I’m going to try for a once a week post. Posts will center around technology, the film industry (for those that don’t know, I now work at IMDb), photography and any other topics that fit my fancy.

I have other ideas for blogs but I’m not going to launch those until I actually start blogging again. Stay tuned and hopefully find some of my thoughts interesting and perhaps share a few of your own.

Leave a Reply

