Cracked again

My credit card just got cracked for a second time. The first one happened several years back. This time the following charges showed up on the card:

  • BLIZZARD-ENT*ELECUPGRD(Services and Merchandise)
  • NC SOFT(Other)

Obviously some gaming charges initially. Found some folks that had a similar experience here. Visa told me that phishers will just enter random numbers until they find one that works. While I’m sure some do that I’d think they’d need more information about me to complete a charge. So, I put a fraud alert on my credit report.

At the end of the call with Equifax (all automated), they connected me with a rep who tried to sell me a $129/year credit monitoring service discounted down to $99 since I already put in the fraud alert. Classy.

Leave a Reply

