Cable download speed

Right after the power came back up in my neighborhood, I got back on the ‘Net and noticed Adobe released their beta for the next rev of Photoshop. As I started the download, I noticed my download speed was screeming fast (717 KB/sec). I figured either Adobe’s download site was way fast or no one in my neighborhood was back to surfing the web yet. Turns out it was a bit of both. My download speed from Adobe today, a week later, is half the prior speed (325 KB/sec). Downloading something from Apple today was also slow (around 75 KB/sec). So, yes the Adobe download site is fast. But despite what Comcast says, the more people using the Internet in my neighborhood, the crappier my speed is.

I’m just waiting for Clearwire to come out with a WiMax card I can install in my laptop and I’m dropping Comcast.

2 Comments on “Cable download speed”

  1. Jana says:

    Hey, I read an article in the Seattle Times that said Clearwire will be a lot slower than cable. I’d let some of those early adopters test it for you first. 🙂

  2. Jeff says:

    That’s exactly why I stick with my DSL. There’s too many people in my neighborhood to share a cable modem with.


Leave a Reply

