Podcasting

I must admit that I haven’t shown much interest in podcasting since it’s introduction about six months ago. “Listening to amateur broadcasts…woo-who.” Just got my latest tidbits where they spend some time laying out the history of podcasting. Did you know that the name podcasting has nothing to do with the iPod? But the history in-itself wasn’t too interesting. What was intriguing was being able to setup your personal NPR. Some stuff on NPR I can’t get enough. Lots of other stuff, well…. I suppose you could say it’d be similar to TiVo for free radio. But how to find the good content? Clicking here I found a fun piece giving a review of the newly released My Architect DVD. I found it just as compelling (if not more) than reading reviews at Amazon.com. Might be kind of cool to download a podcast directly to your phone. Might be more compelling than reading lots of text on a small screen from a news perspective. I’m going to keep an eye on this podcasting thing.

One Comment on “Podcasting”

  1. If you’re into time shifting radio, try Replay Radio.
    Replay Radio lets you record ANY Radio station broadcast over the Web as an MP3 file, and then copy it to your iPod or other MP3 player. It will even burn CDs automatically.
    Replay Radio comes with a database of over 900 shows and 1200 stations, and you can easily add your own.
    One more cool feature: with the optional Replay Player, when you listen on your PC you can easily skip over the ads. (If you use an iPod, just hold down the Next Track button to fast forward.)
    Check it out! A free trial is available from here:
    http://www.replay-radio.com
    Enjoy!