Playlistism

What will those kids think of next. A student from Wesleyan termed a new expression written up in Wired recently:

Playlistism, Aubrey explained, is discrimination based not on race, sex or religion, but on someone’s terrible taste in music, as revealed by their iTunes music library.

With iTunes for Windows available now, I’ve got to check rendezvous when I get to work and see if I can spot any playlists being broadcast. I’d love to check out music collections from my coworkers. Celebrity playlists are a cool idea. But frankly I’d love to check out playlists from my coworkers. I tend to stick in my genres but I know there’s some real cool stuff out there.

The students have taken this notion a step further:

Aubrey said Wesleyan students are enjoying a new parlor game — going through music libraries trying to guess what their owners are like. At any one time, 30 or 40 iTunes libraries are available on the campus network, which is shared by about 2,000 students.

“This one playlist had a lot of German techno,” Aubrey said. “We predicted this was a kid wearing a mesh shirt who wanted to be a Nazi.” At a party shortly afterward, Aubrey recognized the playlist and asked whose music it was. “They pointed to this kid in a mesh shirt with a swastika on his arm,” Aubrey said. Students are starting to realize they must manage their music collections, or at least prune them, to maintain their image.

Like I said, what will those crazy kids think of next. I’ll be the iTunes dev team never imagined this!

