Power to the people

Happened on another Google tidbit. Goggle news just won this year’s Webby for best news service. They beat the BBC! The thing I love about Google News is that the news stories that people are reading are those that are being displayed. There’s not some mysterious editorial process where a subjective laden editor is picking content that they think I’d should see.

Robots 1, humans 0? Well not exactly. Everyone understands that people still write the stories. Personally, I prefer to have humans do what they do best (writing) and leave things like content selection to robots. It would be a waste of talent to have an editor sifting through 1000s of articles and select what’s best to display.

In the future, I’m sure Google News will be able to personalize stories displayed to me. My personal human editor? Maybe if I was billionaire. But alas, that ain’t going to happen. So, bring on the robots!

Interesting interview with Google news creator Krishna Bharat for anyone that cares to learn more.

6 Comments on “Power to the people”

  1. ben says:

    andrej and google, sitting in a tree…

  2. joe says:

    Amazon won for best commerce site πŸ˜‰

  3. Use Google to check out these artifacts and you can see the impending collision of your last two posts.
    They’d be farther ahead if they’d hired Linden.

  4. What kind of comments system is eben making here when you can’t link html in the comments file? The “artifacts” can be found at:
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=Krakatoa+Chronicle

  5. Erik Benson says:

    Yes, I’m the comment Nazi, I hate HTML in the comments, because linking to other sites is so anti-web. πŸ™‚
    I’ve updated the preferences to allow HTML now… the default is to have HTML not allowed and I just forgot to change it.

  6. Starting out

    Everybody has a blog, these days. I work in an office with eight other people. Four of them are active bloggers. They tell me there’s power in the blogosphere, and I believe it. What I don’t believe, or rather don’t…